Friday 22nd September, 2017

Out Now: Roll With The Punches

Roll With The Punche Album

Roll With The Punches, Van Morrison’s new 15 track album is released September 22nd.

Van's latest album sees him simultaneously hand-picking a selection of rhythm and blues classics (by the likes of Bo Diddley, Mose Allison, Sister Rosetta Tharpe and Lightnin’ Hopkins among others) and recording a set of new self-written songs. It’s an album that features raw, intimate interpretations of some of the cornerstones of Rhythm & blues alongside five new numbers by one of our most consistently brilliant recording artists.

Van continues: “The songs on Roll With The Punches - whether I’ve written them or not - they’re performance oriented. Each song is like a story and I’m performing that story. That’s been forgotten over years because people over-analyse things. I was a performer before I started writing songs and I’ve always felt like that’s what I do.”

Roll With The Punches was produced by Van Morrison and recorded with an incredible team of studio collaborators including Chris Farlowe, Georgie Fame, Jeff Beck, Paul Jones and Jason Rebello.

Album Tracklist:

1. Roll With the Punches (Van Morrison & Don Black)
2. Transformation (Van Morrison)
3. I Can Tell (Bo Diddley & Samuel Bernard Smith) 
4. Stormy Monday / Lonely Avenue (Stormy Monday – T-Bone Walker /Lonely Avenue – Doc Pomus) 
5. Goin’ To Chicago (Count Basie & Jimmy Rushing) 
6. Fame (Van Morrison)
7. Too Much Trouble (Van Morrison)
8. Bring It On Home To Me (Sam Cooke) 
9. Ordinary People (Van Morrison)
10. How Far From God (Sister Rosetta Tharpe)
11. Teardrops From My Eyes (Rudy Toombs)
12. Automobile Blues (Lightnin’ Hopkins)
13. Benediction (Mose Allison)
14. Mean Old World (Little Walter)
15. Ride On Josephine (Bo Diddley)

Buy or Listen to 'Roll With The Punches'

Share This

View All News

Sign up to receive the latest news on live dates, music and more