Tuesday 11th July, 2017

Roll With The Punches – new album and autumn tour dates

Roll With The Punche Album

Van Morrison – one of British music’s few true legends – releases a new 15 track album on 22nd September 2017.

Roll With The Punches, Van Morrison’s 37th studio album, sees him simultaneously hand-picking a selection of rhythm and blues classics (by the likes of Bo Diddley, Mose Allison, Sister Rosetta Tharpe and Lightnin’ Hopkins among others) and recording a set of new self-written songs. It’s an album that features raw, intimate interpretations of some of the cornerstones of Rhythm & blues alongside five new numbers by one of our most consistently brilliant recording artists. 

Roll With The Punches was produced by Van Morrison and recorded with an incredible team of studio collaborators including Chris Farlowe, Georgie Fame, Jeff Beck, Paul Jones and Jason Rebello.

Van commented: "From a very early age, I connected with the blues. The thing about the blues is you don’t dissect it – you just do it. I’ve never over-analysed what I do; I just do it. Music has to be about just doing it and that’s the way the blues works – it’s an attitude. I was lucky to have met people who were the real thing – people like John Lee Hooker, Jimmy Witherspoon, Bo Diddley, Little Walter & Mose Allison. I got to hang out with them and absorb what they did. They were people with no ego whatsoever and they helped me learn a lot."

The album features:

1.     Roll With the Punches (Van Morrison & Don Black)
2.     Transformation (Van Morrison)
3.     I Can Tell (Bo Diddley & Samuel Bernard Smith) 
4.     Stormy Monday / Lonely Avenue (Stormy Monday – T-Bone Walker /Lonely Avenue – Doc Pomus) 
5.     Goin’ To Chicago (Count Basie & Jimmy Rushing) 
6.     Fame (Van Morrison)
7.     Too Much Trouble (Van Morrison)
8.     Bring It On Home To Me (Sam Cooke) 
9.     Ordinary People (Van Morrison) 
10. How Far From God (Sister Rosetta Tharpe)
11. Teardrops From My Eyes (Rudy Toombs) 
12. Automobile Blues (Lightnin’ Hopkins) 
13. Benediction (Mose Allison) 
14. Mean Old World (Little Walter) 
15. Ride On Josephine (Bo Diddley)

Van Morrison plays a previously announced UK tour in the autumn. The dates are:

Nov 6th Edinburgh Playhouse
Nov 7th Glasgow Royal Court
Nov 12th London Eventim Apollo
Nov 13th Birmingham Symphony Hall
Nov 15th Liverpool Philharmonic Hall
Nov 20th Cardiff St. David’s Hall
Nov 21st Bristol Colston Hall
Nov 24th Torquay Princess Theatre
Nov 25th Plymouth Pavilions
Dec 4th Belfast Europa Hotel
Dec 5th Belfast Europa Hotel

Tickets are available here

Share This

View All News

Sign up to receive the latest news on live dates, music and more