Monday 6th November, 2017

Van Morrison announces new album Versatile

Van Morrison Versatile Album Artwork

Following the massive success of his 37th studio album Roll With the Punches (which charted at No 4 in the UK this September), Van Morrison prepares the release of his 38th.

Versatile is positive proof that Van Morrison is built differently to other artists. One of very few British recording artists to warrant the description ‘living legend’, Van is currently working at a rate to put musicians a third of his age to shame; an ethic that harks back to his early days as a recording artist who’d easily release multiple brilliant long players within the space of a year.

While Roll With The Punches saw Van revisit many of the definitive rhythm and blues records that have stayed with him all his life, Van’s latest album sees him delve further back into recorded music’s archives to interpret some of the 20th century’s greatest vocal jazz standards.

Across Versatile’s sixteen tracks, Van Morrison interprets some of the very building blocks of modern music in his own utterly unique style.  As well as songs originally made famous by the likes of Chet Baker, Frank Sinatra, the Righteous Brothers, Tony Bennett and Nat King Cole, Versatile features six stunning new Van compositions, including Broken Record – a timeless piece of late-night swing. To coincide with the new album news, Van Morrison has released two new tracks ‘I Get A Kick Out Of You’ & ‘Makin’ Whoopee’ that are available now to stream.

A joy from start to finish, Versatile is a completely different record to Roll With the Punches yet it’s incontrovertibly Van and proof, if ever it were needed, that at 72 years of age, he’s not going to slow down any time soon.

Versatile Tracklist:
1. ‘Broken Record’ (Van Morrison)
2. ‘A Foggy Day’ (George Gershwin and Ira Gershwin)
3. ‘Let’s Get Lost’ (Frank Loesser and Jimmy McHugh)
4. ‘Bye Bye Blackbird’ (Ray Henderson and Mort Dixon)
5. ‘Skye Boat Song’ (Traditional. Arranged by Van Morrison)
6. ‘Take It Easy Baby’ (Van Morrison)
7. ‘Makin’ Whoopee’ (Walter Donaldson and Gus Kahn)
8. ‘I Get a Kick Out of You’ (Cole Porter)
9. ‘I Forgot That Love Existed’ (Van Morrison)
10. ‘Unchained Melody’ (Alex North and Hy Zaret)
11. ‘Start All Over Again’ (Van Morrison)
12. ‘Only A Dream’ (Van Morrison)
13. ‘Affirmation’ featuring Sir James Galway (Van Morrison)
14. ‘The Party’s Over’ (Betty Comden, Adolph Green and Jule Styne)
15. ‘I Left My Heart in San Francisco’ (George Cory and Douglass Cross)
16. ‘They Can’t Take That Away from Me’ (George Gershwin and Ira Gershwin)

The launch date is to tie in with the first date of Van’s UK tour, a reminder of the dates here:
Nov 6th Edinburgh Playhouse
Nov 7th Glasgow Royal Court
Nov 12th London Eventim Apollo
Nov 13th Birmingham Symphony Hall
Nov 15th Liverpool Philharmonic Hall
Nov 17th Blue Note Festival - Salle Pleyel - Paris, France
Nov 20th Cardiff St. David’s Hall
Nov 21st Bristol Colston Hall
Nov 24th Torquay Princess Theatre
Nov 25th Plymouth Pavilions
Dec 4th Belfast Europa Hotel
Dec 5th Belfast Europa Hotel

Tickets are available here

Share This

View All News

Sign up to receive the latest news on live dates, music and more

Privacy Policy