Tuesday 5th April, 2022

New album: What’s It Gonna Take?

Whats It Gonna Take

Van Morrison has announced details of his 43rd studio album. What’s It Gonna Take? is released on Exile Productions/Virgin on May 20th. Pretending - the first track taken from the album - is out now everywhere online.

What’s It Gonna Take? is the follow up to Van Morrison’s 2021 release - the 28-track double album Latest Record Project, Vol. 1 - and is further evidence of the rich creative streak that one of the world’s greatest artist’s is currently on.

What’s It Gonna Take? features fifteen new Van Morrison compositions that collectively reflect the artist’s indefatigable drive to record and perform live in front of audiences. The album is preceded by Pretending - a gorgeous restless soul track, online everywhere now - and was produced by Van Morrison and was recorded between Real World Studios (Wiltshire), Bath Spa Hotel (Bath), Richard Dunn’s Studio, Culloden Hotel (Co. Down) Holywood Studio (Co. Down) and Musicbox Studios (Cardiff).

What’s It Gonna Take? track listing

1. Dangerous (Listen Now)
2. What’s It Gonna Take?
3. Fighting Back Is The New Normal
4. Fodder For The Masses
5. Can’t Go On This Way 
6. Sometimes It’s Just Blah Blah Blah 
7. Money From America 
8. Not Seeking Approval
9. Damage And Recovery 
10. Nervous Breakdown (Listen Now)
11. Absolutely Positively The Most 
12. I Ain’t No Celebrity 
13. Stage Name 
14. Fear And Self-Loathing In Las Vegas 
15. Pretending (Listen Now)

Van Morrison is one of music’s true originals - utterly unique and inspirational with a legacy that spans the last seven decades. Born in Belfast in 1945 and inspired by blues, country and gospel, he formed the hugely successful R&B band Them in 1964 before moving on to a different realm as a solo artist. One of the most prolific recording artists and hardest working live performers of his era, Van Morrison has crafted an unparalleled catalogue of releases that moves effortlessly through his myriad influences, including visionary street poetry, jazz, swing, skiffle and Celtic roots and includes some of the best loved songs of the 20th century. He has also managed to maintain a work ethic both on stage and in the studio that would shame younger artists. What’s It Gonna Take? is Van Morrison’s 43rd studio album.

Share This

View All News

Sign up to receive the latest news on live dates, music and more